UAE visa ban countries list 2023

The UAE has restricted visas from 13 countries most of them are Arabic and Muslim countries including Iran, Syria, Afghanistan, and Pakistan, according to a document issued by a state-owned business park. A source has declared that Visas are temporarily restricted from being issued to Afghans, Pakistanis, and citizens of several other countries over security concerns, but no other details had been presented. The following article discusses the UAE visa ban countries list and whether or not some of these countries are actually banned.

Documentation sent to the companies operating in the park and seen by Reuters says that any applications for new employment and visit visas had been suspended from 13 countries including Somalia, Libya, and Yemen until further notice, other countries like Algeria, Kenya, Iraq, Lebanon, Tunisia, and Turkey are also affected by the decision of visa restriction. On the other hand, the documentation didn’t provide an exception to the mentioned countries, so it looks like everyone is concerned with the decision and will have to deal with it.

However, a source familiar with the matter has stated that the decision is temporary and will not take much time. Last week, Pakistan’s foreign ministry said the UAE had stopped processing new visas for its citizens and those of some other countries, but that those already holding valid visas were not affected and could still enter the UAE.


The list includes Iran, Syria, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Somalia, Libya, Yemen, Algeria, Kenya, Iraq, Lebanon, Tunisia, and Turkey.

When did it come into effect?

Some articles stated that the circular came into effect one a week after the French Embassy in the UAE directed citizens to stay alert following a bomb attack in Saudi Arabia on diplomats claimed by Islamic State. The explosion occurred during a World War One commemoration ceremony in Jeddah. Other sources also related the decision of UAE visa banned countries came two months after the Gulf state established formal ties with Israel. Authorities however didn’t provide any comment about the matter and haven’t yet related the issue with any subject circulating.  No other details were made available. Applications for new employment and visit visas had been suspended for nationals – those outside the UAE of the 13 countries – until further notice as well.

What those countries commented about the decision of UAE visa countries list:

Algeria: the Algerian Ministry of Foreign Affairs has denied reports saying that Algeria is among the list of banned countries of UAE visa. They described the news circulating as false and added that the Emirati authorities had been contacted and denied the news.

The Iraqi foreign ministry has also confirmed that there wasn’t any official decision arriving from UAE that prevents the Iraqi citizens from obtaining a UAE visa. The Pakistani Ministry of Foreign Affairs, on the other hand, had informed UAE had stopped granting new visas to its citizens and citizens of several other countries. The holders of the visa however are not affected by the decision and the new restriction. Some others believe that the decision is related to the outbreak of the coronavirus pandemic in some of those countries

When will the ban be lifted?

Although the visa ban is expected to last for only a short period, the Emirati authorities haven’t clarified yet when exactly it will be lifted. No other comment concerning the matter has been added and no response from media or countries citizens about the issue has been sent. The authorities only confirmed that it is only a matter of time before things go back to a place and will no longer be a UAE visa ban countries list.

It may interest you:How to check overstay fine in UAE online

Share your love

Leave a Reply